The Academy of Culinary Arts unveils Annual Awards of Excellence finalists

29 April 2013 by
The Academy of Culinary Arts unveils Annual Awards of Excellence finalists

The Academy of Culinary Arts has named the candidates for this year's Annual Awards of Excellence final.

Fifty-four young chefs, pastry chefs and waiters (aged between 20 and 26) have been selected for the competition, which will take place in London and Scotland in June.

Those taking part in the kitchen category, at the University of West London on 19 June are:

Matthew Ambrose, Claridge's
Josh Bingham, Le Manoir aux Quat‘Saisons
Sven-Hanson Britt, The Ritz London
Jack Davies, The Westbury Hotel
Sophie Fenlon, Trinity Restaurant
James Goodyear, Le Manoir aux Quat‘Saisons
William Gordon, Odette's Restaurant
Daniel Graham, Odette's Restaurant
Mark Hemsley, Alexander House Hotel
Oskar Lundvall, Dinner by Heston Blumenthal
Andrew Newbon, Claridge's
Simon Suffolk, White's
Daniel Tugwell, The Commodore Hotel

Pastry skills will also be put to the test on 19 June at Westminster Kingsway College, when the following chefs will be going for Annual Awards of Excellence status:

Patrick Bond, Le Manoir aux Quat‘Saisons
Clare Fletcher, Le Manoir aux Quat‘Saisons
Aisha Ibrahim, Paul Rhodes London
Lucy Jones, The Ritz London
Matthew Jones, Le Manoir aux Quat‘Saisons
Natasha Lewis, Ashdown Park Hotel and Country Club
Shaun Mason, The Royal Household
Brynley Phipps, William Curley
Denver Schroffner, The Arts Club
Zhaokun Xu, The Savoy

Two service finals will take place, on 15 June at Le Gavroche, London, and at Gleneagles in Auchterarder, Perthshire, on 24 June. The Service finalists are:

Nicole Waefler, William Curley
Natasha Wigmore, Bents Garden And Home
Victoria Windling-Gayton, Bachmanns

Academy of Culinary Arts' Annual Awards of Excellence 2013 open for entries >>

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking