Hotel Cateys 2014 shortlist revealed

12 September 2014 by
Hotel Cateys 2014 shortlist revealed

The countdown to The Caterer's Hotel Cateys 2014 awards has begun and we are delighted to announce the shortlist.

Now in their eighth year, the awards are the hotel industry's only truly independent benchmark of operational excellence.

Since their launch in 2007, the Hotel Cateys have celebrated the most successful hotels, hoteliers and hotel employees across the UK. They were created to recognise and reward those individuals and teams that work tirelessly to make sure their business delivers an exceptional guest experience, day in, day out.

Nearly 90 judges, selected for their expertise and industry knowledge, met at London's Dorchester hotel this week for two days of vigorous debate and discussion to reduce the nominees to our shortlist of runners up in 15 out of 18 categories. Shortlists are not revealed for our Extra Mile, Hotelier of the Year and Outstanding Contribution award categories.

The eventual winners will remain a closely guarded secret until they are announced at a dazzling event on 28 November at London's Park Plaza Westminster Bridge hotel.

To purchase your ticket for the Hotel Cateys, visit our website, or to enquire about sponsoring the event please contact Rob Adam, group sales manager at, telephone 020 7881 4817.


Front of House Manager of the Year

Amanda Cooper, front of house manager, The Charing Cross Hotel, London

Anna-Marie Denmark, front of house manager, Strattons Hotel, Swaffham

Thoralf Kretzschmar, front of house manager, Lancaster London

Front of House Team of the Year

Lancaster London

Macdonald Windsor Hotel

St Pancras Renaissance London Hotel

The Capital Hotel, London

The Montagu Arms Hotel, Beaulieu, New Forest

Northcote, Langho, Lancashire

Hotel Restaurant Manager of the Year - Sponsored by Carte Noire

Davide Durante, restaurant and bar manager, The Bingham, Richmond

Kaseam Jongpitakrat, hotel restaurant manager, Nipa Thai, Lancaster London

Paul Mooney, Boathouse restaurant manager, Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Housekeeper of the Year - Sponsored by Berendsen

Nelio Jardim , housekeeping manager, Village Urban Resort Swindon

Christine MacCormack, executive head housekeeper, Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Joanna Patek, executive housekeeper, Hilton London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5

Green Hotel of the Year

Hotel du Vin Newcastle

Red Carnation Hotels

Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa, Northamptonshire

Human Resources Manager of the Year

Aideen Whelehan, Human Resources Manager, Lancaster London

Claire Whiteford, Multi-property Human Resources Manager, Marriott International

Mike Williams, Director of People Development, De Vere Hotels & Village Urban Resorts

Human Resources Team of the Year

De Vere Hotels & Village Urban Resorts

Dorchester Collection

Red Carnation Hotels

Food and Beverage Manager of the Year - Sponsored by The Balvenie

Axelle Besson, food & beverage manager, Lancaster London

Jorge Canela, food & beverage manager, Park Plaza County Hall, London

Stuart Geddes, director of food & beverage, The Goring, London

Globy Ouseph, food & beverage manager, Sofitel London Heathrow

Conference and Banqueting Team of the Year - Sponsored by Reynolds

Hilton London Heathrow Airport Terminal 5

Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill

Lancaster London

The Palace Hotel, Manchester

Spa Professional of the Year

Maria Herrera, senior director of spa, Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire

Tina Herridge, training & therapy manager, Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, Brockenhurst, New Forest

Kerry Hudson, spa director, Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, New Milton, Hampshire

Hotel Chef of the Year (fewer than 250 covers) - Sponsored by Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division

Steve Smith, head chef, Bohemia, St Helier, Jersey

Lee Streeton, executive chef, Browns Hotel, London

Matthew Tomkinson, head chef, The Montagu Arms Hotel, Beaulieu, New Forest

Hotel Chef of the Year (more than 250 covers) - Sponsored by Brakes

Adam Bateman, group executive chef, The Hotel Collection - Walton Hall and Walton Hotel, Warwickshire

Tony Fleming, executive chef, South Place Hotel, London

James Murphy, executive head chef, Principal Hayley - Grand Central Hotel, Glasgow

Concierge Award

Burak Ipekci, concierge & lifestyle manager, South Place Hotel, London

Richard Jenkins, head concierge, The Cavendish, London

Frank Laino, executive head concierge, The Stafford London

Colin Parkes, head concierge, Careys Manor Hotel & Senspa, Brockenhurst, Hampshire

Revenue Award - Sponsored by BSkyB

Imogen Baxter, revenue manager, Lifehouse Spa and Hotel, Thorpe-le-Soken, Essex

Natalie Grose, director of revenue, Jumeirah Hotels & Resorts, London

Helle Norgaard Beattie, revenue manager UK, Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill

Extra Mile Award

There is no shortlist for this award

Hotelier of the Year - Sponsored by Casna Group

There is no shortlist of this award

Outstanding Contribution - Sponsored by Diversey

There is no shortlist for this award

TagsAwards and Hotels
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking