Quarantine restrictions extended to Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas

07 August 2020 by
Quarantine restrictions extended to Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas

Quarantine restrictions have been extended to Belgium, Andorra and the Bahamas, requiring international arrivals to self-isolate for 14 days from tomorrow (Saturday 8 August).

The Foreign Office has also updated its travel advice to warn against all but essential travel to the regions.

There are concerns that France could be added to the quarantine list, after it recorded its highest daily number of new Covid-19 cases in two months.

Brunei and Malaysia, meanwhile, have been added to list of travel corridors for the UK, having been assessed by the Joint Biosecurity Centre as posing a lower infection risk. The changes will come into force from 4am Tuesday 11 August.

In its statement the Department of Transport said: "The government has made consistently clear it will take decisive action if necessary to contain the virus, including removing countries from the travel corridors list rapidly if the public health risk of people returning from a particular country without self-isolating becomes too high."

Image: Shutterstock

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking