Government announces five new travel corridors but does not relax Portugal restrictions

24 July 2020 by
Government announces five new travel corridors but does not relax Portugal restrictions

Visitors from Estonia, Latvia, Slovakia, Slovenia and St Vincent and the Grenadines will be able to travel to the UK without quarantining for two weeks from Tuesday 28 July.

Portugal was not added to the updated list of travel corridors announced today, despite lobbying from the tourism industry bodies.

Today's announcement brings the number of countries with ‘air bridges' to the UK to 80. The full list can be viewed here.

Since 10 July, travellers arriving in the UK from countries without a travel corridor agreement have had to self-isolate for 14 days. This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route.

The government has also confirmed it will be updating the list of "safe" countries on a weekly basis going forward to "reflect the shifting international health picture".

Meanwhile, Cuba, Sri Lanka and Cambodia were added to a separate Foreign Office list of countries where advice is no longer against all-but-essential travel.

Picture: Shutterstock

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking