Switzerland, Jamaica and the Czech Republic removed from travel corridors list

27 August 2020 by
Switzerland, Jamaica and the Czech Republic removed from travel corridors list

Switzerland, Jamaica and the Czech Republic have been removed from the government's quarantine safe list, transport secretary Grant Shapps has confirmed.

Those arriving in the UK from the countries after 4am on Saturday will be required to self-isolate for 14 days after an assessment of a range of criteria including Covid-19 infection rates per 100,000 residents.

In a series of tweets, Shapps also confirmed that Cuba would now be added to the safe list.

He said: "Data shows we need to remove the Czech Republic, Jamaica and Switzerland from our list of #Coronavirus Travel Corridors to keep infection rates DOWN. If you arrive in the UK after 0400 Saturday from these destinations, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days."

He added: "Data also shows we can now add Cuba to those countries INCLUDED in Travel Corridors. As with all air bridge countries, please be aware that things can (and do sometimes) change quickly. Only travel if you are content to unexpectedly 14-day quarantine on return."

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking