Young Chef Young Waiter semi-final line-up unveiled

17 August 2004
Young Chef Young Waiter semi-final line-up unveiled

A sous chef will pit his culinary skills against his boss in one of the semi-finals of this year's Young Chef Young Waiter competition.

Nick Seckington of the White Hart hotel in Nettlebed, Oxfordshire, and his head chef, Fred Stanton, are both drawn to compete in the first of the 2004 event's semi finals at Oxford Brookes university on 7 September.

The second semi-final will be held two days later at St Helen's College in Merseyside.

There are 16 competitors from each category in each semi-final, making a total of 64 chef and waiter competitors at this stage of the event.

Seckington and Stanton line-up against the 2003 runner-up, Steven Allen from Gordon Ramsay at Claridge's, in their semi final, while their waiter counterparts will test their mettle against last year's runner-up in the waiter category, Gaeton Morillon from Morton's in London.

Sixteen chefs and 16 waiters will go through to the final to be held in London on 4 October.

The competition carries a prize of £2,000 and a week's study trip to Cuba for each winner.

It is organised by the Restaurant Association in association with American Express and has major sponsorship from the Savoy Educational Trust.

Young Chef Young Waiter 2004 regional finalists

Southern regional final - Tuesday 7 September, Oxford Brookes University, Oxford


Oliver Lesnik, Whites Club, London
Kevin Tew, Orrery, London
Daniel Budden, Balls Brothers, Lime Street, London
Nick Seckington, White Hart Hotel, Nettlebed, Oxfordshire
Nathan Green, Thyme, London
Sean Flint, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay, London
Fred Stanton, White Hart Hotel, Nettlebed, Oxfordshire
Samuel Miller, Le Champignon Sauvage, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Franco Caruso, Lucknam Park, Colerne, Wiltshire
Jamie Raftery, Dower House Hotel, Rousdon, Dorset
Robert Mace, Adnams at The Swan Hotel, Southwold, Norfolk
Natalie Wickham, the Dorchester, London
Steven Allen, Gordon Ramsay at Claridge's, London
Nick Gabaldon, Baxter & Platts, GlaxoSmithKline, London
Andrew Swann, the Castle Hotel, Taunton, Somerset
John Hooker, the Arundell Arms Hotel, Lifton, Devon


Karim Le Cloareq, Aurora, Great Eastern Hotel, London
Elena Muller, the Royal Crescent Hotel, Bath
Jean Jacques Danilo, Lucknam Park, Colerne, Wiltshire
Samuel Pitcher, Tylney Hall Hotel, Hook, Hampshire
Richard Huxtable, Arundell Arms Hotel, Lifton, Devon
Loic Le Goff, Tom Aikens, London
Gaetan Morillon, Morton's , London
James Berry, Chapter One Restaurant, Locksbottom, Kent
Ashley Shaw, Claridge's, London
Nicolas Mori, the Greenhouse, London
Gaetano Falcone, the Dorchester, London
Fleury Nadege, the Wolseley, London
Lidia Dhorne, the Feathers Hotel, Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Nicolas Coppel, Amberley Castle, Amberley, West Sussex
Emilie Gentils, Fishmarket, Great Eastern Hotel, London
William Cristanelli, the Ritz, London

Northern regional final - Thursday 9 September, St Helens College, St Helens, Merseyside


Emma Perston, Hilton Edinburgh Grosvenor, Edinburgh
Vincent Vieira, the Belmore Hotel, Sale, Cheshire
Heidi Pearce, Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, Howtown, Cumbria
Amy Ballin, Fernhill Hotel, Portpatrick, Dumfries & Galloway
Andrew Beaumont, Tyddyn Llan, Llandrillo, Wales, Denbighshire
Joseph Doyle, the Gleneagles Hotel, Auchterarder, Perthshire
Simon Ball, Twelve Restaurant, Marshmill in Wyre, Lancashire
Phillip Sinclair, Simply Heathcotes, Liverpool
Lisa Allen, Northcote Manor, Langho, Lancashire
Adam Brown, Gallery Restaurant, Coventry, West Midlands
Elliot Moss, Entropy, Leicester
Louie Lawrence, Establishment, Manchester
Mark Puffer, Le Mont, Manchester
Tom Burton, Aroma Café & Bar, Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Stephen Thompson, Tiberio Restaurant, Bradford, South Yorkshire
Fraser Meechan, Rogano, Glasgow


Morgan Martinello, Four Seasons Hotel, London
Max Hohenwarter, the Halkin Hotel, London
Ahmet Karabacak, Oxo Tower, London
Martin Baumgartner, Pearl Restaurant, Renaissance Chancery Court Hotel, London
Leah Fellstad, Rhodes 24, London
Jens Jeppesen, Four Seasons Hotel, London
Christopher Peck, ABV Restaurant, Leicester
Loic Blacheyre, Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, Howtown, Cumbria
Renaud Merrien, Mallory Court, Leamington-Spa, Warwickshire
Terry Baker, Establishment, Manchester
Amrut Misra, Hilton Cardiff
Hazel Wilkins, the Celtic Manor Resort, Newport, Gwent
Thierry Beaurain, the Chester Grosvenor Hotel, Chester
Shaine Ohrt, Winteringham Fields, Winteringham, Lincolnshire
Trudy Mallin, Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles, Auchterarder, Perthshire
Helen Hope, Le Mont, Manchester

Buy this week's Caterer magazine for more industry news and analysis

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking