HOSPA announces Annual Learner Award winners

29 January 2019 by
HOSPA announces Annual Learner Award winners

Maria Gutierrez Mondragon and Kris Franklin led the way at the HOSPA Professional Development Annual Learner Awards, during which accolades were presented to young hospitality professionals working in financial and revenue management.

Gutierrez Mondragon, accounts assistant at Delta Norton Park Operations, was recognised for achieving the highest combined coursework and examination scores in financial management during 2018; while Franklin, a cluster revenue manager for Amaris Hospitality, was rewarded likewise in revenue management.

They were among 10 recipients of awards presented at a ceremony held at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower hotel in London to individuals who have undertaken training provided by HOSPA (Hospitality Professionals Association) in association with Area4finance.

The full list of winners in financial management included:

Introduction to Financial Accounting
Maria Gutierrez Mondragon, accounts assistant, Delta Norton Park Operations, Winchester
Beryl Mathews, finance executive, Jumeirah Restaurants Group, Dubai

Operational Management Accounting
Yan Zhang, assistant finance manager, Jumeirah Restaurants Group, Dubai
Simon Leech, assistant financial controller, Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa, Edinburgh

Strategic Management Accounting
Amy Kimbel, finance manager, Plus Rooms, London
Hien Nguyen, assistant financial controller, Banyan Tree Hotels & Resorts, Vietnam

The full list of winners in revenue management included:

Introduction to Revenue Management
Antonio Sans, cluster revenue manager, LABTECH London
Kris Franklin, cluster revenue manager, Amaris Hospitality, Watford

Operational Revenue Management
Gretchen Abrahams, deputy group revenue manager, Mantis Collection South Africa
Kris Franklin, cluster revenue manager, Amaris Hospitality, Watford

Strategic Revenue Management
Dasline Muvwanga, cluster rooms reservations manager, Radisson Hotel Group, Glasgow
Gretchen Abrahams, deputy group revenue manager, Mantis Collection South Africa

Pictured (from left to right): Yan Zhang, Hien Nguyen, Amy Kimbel, Maria Gutierrez Mondragon, Antonio Sans, Kris Franklin, Dasline Muvwanga and Simon Leech

Harry Murray appointed president of HOSPA >>

HOSPA Annual Learner Awards honour 10 individuals >>

Get The Caterer every week on your smartphone, tablet, or even in good old-fashioned hard copy (or all three!).
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking