Danny Pecorelli named 2014 Hotelier of the Year

12 November 2014 by
Danny Pecorelli named 2014 Hotelier of the Year

Danny Pecorelli, managing director of Exclusive Hotels and Venues has been named as the 2014 Hotelier of the Year.

He was presented with his award at a celebratory lunch today at London's Grosvenor House hotel, by Amanda Afiya, editor of The Caterer, and Nick Appell, owner of Casna Group, the award's sponsor.

A judging panel of past winners selected Pecorelli as this year's winner for achieving the highest standards of hotelkeeping in running a group of four hotels, two venues and two golf clubs which hold an unprecedented 20 AA stars and four Michelin stars. They were particularly impressed by his passion and commitment in being a hands-on hotelier and driving the business through mentoring and development of people, whilst continually achieving culinary excellence across all the properties.

Dominic Walsh, business reporter (leisure/drinks), The Times, described Pecorelli as "a restless innovator" who always seeks new ways of making his hotels the best they possibly can be.

"He is not afraid to invest to achieve his aims, as shown by the remarkable collection of Michelin stars and other accolades garnered by the hotels' restaurants," he explained. "Yet, despite his role as managing director of the group, he remains very much a hands-on hotelier, spending much of his time walking the floor to meet guests and interacting with employees at all levels of the business."

Pecorelli took over the running what was then known as Exclusive Hotels in 1997 and over the past 10 years has overseen the business double its turnover to £50m. His father, Giuseppe, founded the company in 1981 with the acquisition of Pennyhill Park in Bagshot, Surrey.

The group has since gone on to add South Lodge hotel and Mannings Heath Golf Club in Lower Beeding, West Sussex; Manor House Hotel & Golf Club, Castle Combe, Wiltshire; Lainston House, Winchester, Hampshire; Fanhams Hall, Ware, Hertfordshire; and Royal Berkshire, Ascot, Berkshire.

Past winners of the 32-year-old Hotelier of the Year award include Harry Murray in 1986, Robin Hutson (2003) and Andrew Stembridge (2010). Last year's winner, Stuart Bowery, general manager of Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott hotel, hosted today's lunch.

** See this week's issue of The Caterer, on 14 November, for an interview with Hotelier of the Year, Danny Pecorelli*

Stuart Bowery of Grosvenor House is named 2013 Hotelier of the Year >>

Stuart Johnson named 2012 Hotelier of the Year >>

Stephen Carter named 2011 Hotelier of the Year >>

TagsAwards and Hotels
The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking