The Catey 2005 awards

16 March 2005 by
The Catey 2005 awards

The Cateys 2005 was held on 5 July at the Grosvenor House hotel, London.

Now in their 22nd year, the awards celebrate the industry's highest flyers, strongest performers and hottest brands.

Recipients are nominated, selected and awarded by their industry peers. There were 17 categories, including a new award for Public Sector Caterer of the Year.

This year's winners:

Restaurateur of the Year - Group:Mark Derry, Loch Fyne Restaurants

Restaurateur of the Year - Independent:Alan Yau

Tourism Award:Bob Downie

Manager of the Year:Stephen Carter

Newcomer of the Year:Simon Rogan

Pub and Bar Industry Award:Tim Bacon

Pub and Bar Operator of the Year:Craig Bancroft and Nigel Haworth

Hotel of the Year - Independent:Cotsword House Hotel

Hotel of the Year - Group:City Inn Westminster

Menu of the Year:Bohemia, St Helier, Jersey

Education and Training Award:Cyrus Todiwala

Best Independent Marketing Campaign:Cotswold House Hotel

Best Group Marketing Campaign:Wagamama

Food Service Service Caterer of the Year:Peter Aldrich

Public Sector Caterer of the Year:Ron McKenzie

Chef Award:David Nicholls

Special Award:Phillip Kaye

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking