Hotelympia competition results: Thursday 23 February

24 February 2006
Hotelympia competition results: Thursday 23 February


Competition medallists as at 5.30pm, Thursday 23 February


Traditional Pasta Dish: Colin Johnstone, Compass Group Culinary Team (gold and first in class); Paulo Veronese, Jumeirah Carlton Tower, London (gold); Robert Meadows, Compass Group Culinary Team (gold); Simon Woods, University of York (bronze); Andrew Batchelor, Ashridge, Berkhamstead (merit); Jamie Pead, Haileybury College, Herts (merit); Anand Jayapal, New York State Culinary Team,
Edison Club (merit); Ercan Soylu, Turkish Young Chefs Culinary Team (merit)

Major International Football Culinary Challenge: Ray Cordineley, David Rose, Stefan Mouilly, Chelsea Football Club (gold and first in class); Steve Jones, Paul Jones, Helen Brewer, Millennium Stadium (gold); Stephen Wheeler, Chris Garrett, Leon Smith, Wembley Stadium Delaware North Companies (silver); Nigel Rose, Steve Smith, Andy Johnson, Newcastle United Football Club (silver); Frank Coughlan, Martyn Hodgetts, Mark Fitzmaurice, Southampton Football Club (bronze); Steve Flecher, Keith Ross, Adam Viggers, West Ham United Football Club (bronze); Mark Flello, Chris Oakley, Dan Ripton, Birmingham City Football Club (merit); Peter Pettigrew, Larry Serra, Youssef Debouza, Tottenham Hotspur Football Club (merit); Adam Brown, Paul Finch, David Flanery, Leicester City Football Club (merit)

Gourmet Classic Challenge: Sarah Cox, British Army Culinary Arts Team (gold); Teresa McCarthy, The Crown Moran Hotel, London (silver); Sanobia Cutino, Great Fosters, Egham (silver); Michael Leverett, Compass Group Culinary Team (silver); Peter Anderson, The De Vere Belfrey Hotel, Wishaw (silver); Daniel Lewis, Jumeirah Culinary Team (merit); Antoine Amalon, Hotel Bellevue, France (merit)


Hospital Chefs Team Event: Sharon Slaughter, Sue Mayhew, Alderburgh Community Hospital (gold); Matthew Thornton, Darren Lamb, Nottingham City Hospital (silver); Scott White, Michael White, Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital (silver); Kenny Young, Jim Smith, Hairmyres Hospital, Glasgow (silver); Vikki Hinkin, Bruce Cross, West Cornwall Hospital (silver); Christophe Butterworth, Michael Harrison, Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust (bronze); Peter Rorbach, Tom Warren- McCauley, Leighton Hospital Mid-Cheshire Trust (bronze); Gary Ball, David Hewings, Barry Community Llandough Hospitals (merit); Richard Brake, Adam Celine Warwick Hospital (merit)

School Catering/Social Services Individual Dessert: Kimberley Garbutt, Scolarest, Newton Aycliffe (gold); Martin Beech, Millfield School, Somerset (silver); Cathy Lintham, Downside Abbey School, Bath (bronze); Steven Smith, Haileybury College, Hertford (bronze); Debbi Cook, Scolarest, Finsbury Park (bronze); Edward Wright, Compass Group Culinary Team (merit); Donna Hewit, Scolarest, Finsbury Park (merit); Gillian Shamlou, Scolarest, Newton Aycliffe (merit)

Works in Fat: Richard Surman, Compass Group Culinary Team (gold); Palash Gomes, Radisson SAS Hotel, London Stanstead Airport (silver); Gary Schofield, Huddersfield Technical College (silver); Robert Jones, British Army Culinary Arts Team (silver); Derrick Asante, British Army Culinary Arts Team (bronze); Thomas Pratt, Adam Smith College, Kirkaldy (bronze); Louise Chism, RAF Leuchars, St Andrews, Fife (bronze); Evelyn Potts, the Waterfront Restaurant, Kirkcaldy (merit); Mustapha Ferguene, Bank of England, London (merit); David Dickson, Adam Smith College, Kirkcaldy (merit).


A Restaurant Platter: Ed Francis, Compass Group Culinary Team (silver and first in class); Annie Branch, Oxford and Cherwell Valley College (silver); Jacqueline Poole, Westminster Kingsway College (bronze)

Restaurant Plates: Natalie Cullerton, Compass Group Culinary Team (silver); Julian Williams, Westminster Kingsway College (bronze); Adi Irawan, The De Vere Belfrey Hotel, Wishaw (merit)

Sodexho Culinary Team David Hunt: Robert Szeczyck, Clark Crawley, Lisa Lisalott, Cathy Farr, Caroline Petitt, Robin Turner (silver); Craft Guild of Chefs Culinary Team: Stuart McLeod, Christopher Basten, Michael Godfrey, Matt Owens, Simon Green, Phil Clarke, Frank Aidou (bronze)


KITCHEN/LARDER Richard Gatehouse, Compass Culinary Team (A Show Platter of Salmon)

PASTRY Scott O'Hara, the De Vere Belfry, Wishaw (Decorative Buffet Centrepiece)

SUGARCRAFT Sue McMahon, Woman's Weekly, IPC Media, London (Bridal Bouquet)

RESTAURANT PLATES Javier Lopez, Compass Group Culinary Team (Restaurant Plates, Main Course)

JUNIOR LIVE THEATRE Richard Samways, Balmoral Hotel, Edinburgh (Junior Fish Dish)

SENIOR LIVE THEATRE Holger Jakish and Scott Stokes, Jumeirah Culinary Team (World Cup Challenge)

JUNIOR GRAND PRIX D'HONNEUR Robert Nyman, Royal Garden Hotel, London (Petits Fours)

SENIOR GRAND PRIX D'HONNEUR Sue McMahon, Woman's Weekly, IPC Media, London (Bridal Bouquet)

LA PARADE DES CHEFS Compass Group Culinary Team (Best Team)

OPEN TEAM GRAND PRIX Compass Group Culinary Team (Cold Buffet and Hot Kitchen)

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking