Full nominees list announced for Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2014

29 April 2014 by
Full nominees list announced for Craft Guild of Chefs Awards 2014

The full list of nominees for the 2014 Craft Guild of Chefs Awards has been announced, including top names such as Gymkhana, Cinnamon Soho, the French, Searcys and Elior UK.

The 17 awards categories include accolades such as Apprentice Chef, Armed Services Chef, Banqueting & Event Chef, Pastry Chef, Concept & Innovation; People's Choice; Development Chef, and Pub Restaurant Chef.

Nominees on the list include: Vincent Cottam, chef lecturer at Westminster Kingsway College (Chef Lecturer Award); Raju Ramachandran, head chef at Cinnamon Soho (Ethnic Chef Award); and London's Gymkhana, Brasserie Chavot, and the French Restaurant in the Midland Hotel, Manchester (New Restaurant of the Year Award).

Other names include Daniel Pearse, head pastry chef at Hakkasan, and Philip Skinazi, executive pastry chef at BaxterStorey (Pastry Chef Award) and Peter Joyner, food development director at Elior UK (Contract Catering Chef Award).

There are 17 awards in total, of which 15 are open to nominations. The remaining two are decided by a team of Craft Guild member judges, and include the Special Award (sponsored by Sodexo), and the New Restaurant of the Year Award.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 4 June, at London's Westminster Park Plaza Hotel.

Nominees for the Concept & Innovation Award are yet to be announced, and the Special Award is only revealed at the awards ceremony.

Last year's winners - in what was the awards' 20th year - included Giorgio Locatelli from Locanda Locatelli (Ethnic Chef Award), the restaurant Lima (New Restaurant of the Year Award), Javier Mercado from Le Cordon Bleu (Competition Chef Award), April Partridge from the Ivy Restaurant (Young Chef Award) and chef James Martin, who won the Special Award.


The nominees for each award category are:

Apprentice Chef Award Steffan Davies, Gidleigh Park
Ben Garnett-Sinclair, Norton Rose Lusso
Elwood King, Lamberts Restaurant
Louise Roberts, Lexington Catering

Armed Services Chef Award Senior Aircraftsman Liam Grime, Catering Flight, Royal Air Force Marham
Lance Corporal Amrit Limbu, Army
Leading Chef Laura Willison, Royal Navy

Banqueting & Event Chef Award Billy Campbell, executive head chef, Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Ben Dutson, executive head chef - Sodexo Prestige Events
Matt Edmonds, head chef - Searcys Club at The Gherkin

Chef Lecturer Award Vincent Cottam, chef lecturer, Westminster Kingsway College
Gary Mclean, chef lecturer, City of Glasgow College
Neil Rippington, dean, College of Food, University College Birmingham

Competition Chef Award Clark Crawley, head chef, Deloitte London

Michael Godfrey, executive head chef, Eton College - Sodexo

Contract Catering Chef Award Peter Joyner, food development director, Elior UK
Malcolm Smith, executive group chef, Sodexo
David Ward, head chef, University of Stirling

Cost Sector Chef Award Glyn Greenow, head chef, Infantry Battle School, Sodexo
Nick Hodges, executive chef, Haileybury College
Scott Pring, executive head chef, Bridgewater College

Development Chef Award Nick Aiello, PepsiCo R&D Culinary Innovation Europe
Graham Mairs, executive chef & innovation manager, The Co-operative
Sanjay Sighat, NPD Controller, The Authentic Food Company

Ethnic Chef Award Stephen Gomes, chef-patron, Moksh
Raju Ramachandran, head chef, Cinamon Soho
Sudha Shanka Saha, chef director, Saffron

New Restaurant of the Year Award Brasserie Chavot, Mayfair, London
Gymkhana, Mayfair, London
The French Restaurant, Midland Hotel, Manchester

Pastry Chef Award Daniel Pearse, head pastry chef, Hakkasan
Martin Powell, pastry chef, RAC Club
Philip Skinazi, executive pastry chef, BaxterStorey

People's Choice Award Bruce Deacon, executive chef, Delaware North
Sheila Lampkin, former sugarcraft director for Hotelympia - freelance for ICHF and Hotelympia
Willie Pike, chef consultant
Bev Puxley, Master of the Worshipful Company of Cooks

Pub Restaurant Chef Award Robert Allcock, head chef, The Long Arms
Chris Norfolk, head chef-patron, The Elm Tree Elmton
Andrew Pern, chef patron, The Star Inn at Harome

Restaurant Chef Award Mark Greenaway, chef patron, Restaurant Mark Greenaway
Paul Kitching, chef patron, 21212
John Rudden, head chef, The Grassington House Hotel

Young Chef Award Craig Bateman, chef de partie, Sandhurst Royal Military Academy - Compass Group
Thomas Lawson, head chef, Rafters Restaurant
Antonia Morosi, food champion, Recipease at Jamie Oliver

Concept & Innovation Award To be announced shortly

Special Award To be announced at the awards ceremony

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking