Chefs compete again for Ramsay Scholarship

24 August 2006 by
Chefs compete again for Ramsay Scholarship

Four chefs who vied for the Gordon Ramsay Scholar Award in 2005 have once again made it through to the competition's final stages.

oining 28 other semi-finalists are London-based Ka Fuy Choy, last year's college scholar, now at Tom Aikens; Nicholas Ghinn, of Chapter One in Kent, Andreas Wingert of Wiltshire's Lucknam Park; and Jamie Raftery (pictured) of Gidleigh Park in Devon, who is trying to make it fourth time luck this year. The competition's new format means that both semi-finals and the final will take place at the BBC Good Food Show at the NEC Birmingham on 22, 23 and 25 November.

The Gordon Ramsay College Scholar final will also be staged at the BBC Good Food show (see Caterersearch next week for details of finalists) and the winner of this will automatically go forward to compete alongside eight successful semi-finalists from the main competition in the grand final on 25 November.

The full list of Gordon Ramsay Scholar Award semi-finalists are as follows:

  • Daniel Birk, Winteringham Fields, Winteringham.
  • Peter Bradley, the Star Inn, Harome, North Yorkshire.
    Ka Fu Choy, Tom Aikens Restaurant, London
  • Oliver Croucher-Stephens, Roussillon, London.
  • Daniel Cross, Choice Bar and Restaurant, Castlefield.
  • Nick Deverell-Smith, Mallory Court Hotel, Leamington Spa.
  • Thomas Egerton, Rhodes Twenty Four, London.
  • John Farrar, Restaurant 23, Sheffield.
  • Colin Fleming, Cosmo Restaurant, Edinburgh.
  • Johnnatan Gallais, The Old Bear Inn, Trowbridge.
  • Nicholas Ghinn, Chapter One, Farnborough Common.
  • David Gillmore, Thornton Hall Hotel, Thornton Hough, the Wirrall.
  • Jennifer Goff, Haigs Hotel, Balsall Common, Coventry.
  • Nathan Green, The Ebury, London.
  • Neil Griffiths, Green Bough Hotel, Chester.
  • Ian Harrison, The Yew Tree Inn, Newbury.
  • Oskars Kalnins, Ballachulish House, Argyll.
  • Lance Keirle, The New Angel, Dartmouth.
  • Eoin Lennon, Banchetto @ Howth Golf Club, County Dublin.
  • Ricky Martin, Read's Restaurant with Rooms, Faversham.
  • Andrew McFadden, Rosso Restaurant, Dundalk.
  • Craig McWilliam, Creebridge House Hotel, Newton Stewart.
  • Daniel Morris, Elephant Bar & Restaurant, Torquay.
  • Jamie Raftery, Gidleigh Park Hotel, Chagford.
  • Andrew Scott, Mallory Court Hotel, Leamington Spa.
  • Chris Seddon, The Swan Hotel, Leek.
  • Ben Sulston, Compass Group, Cheshire.
  • Jeffery Trotter, Heathcote's, Longridge.
  • Aled Williams, Plas Bodegroes, Pwllheli.
  • Andreas Wingert, Lucknam Park Hotel, Colerne.
  • Markus Winkler, The Dorchester, London.
  • Ashley Wood, Linthwaite House Hotel, Windermere.

Get your copy of Caterer and Hotelkeeper every week -

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking