Cateys 2018 shortlist revealed

30 April 2018 by
Cateys 2018 shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 35th Catey Awards has been revealed after judges met to debate hundreds of entries at London's Dorchester hotel last week.

The biggest awards of their kind in the hospitality industry, the internationally renowned Cateys, presented by The Caterer in partnership with Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division, recognise the strongest performers, latest emerging brands and highest flyers in the sector, as determined by the industry itself.

Chosen for their expertise and industry knowledge, more than 100 judges met at London's Dorchester hotel for three days of intense debate to discuss the nominees and produce our shortlist.

The winners, representing British hospitality at its best, will be revealed at a glittering event on 3 July at London's Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel.

To buy tickets for the event, visit or to explore sponsorship opportunities contact

Best Employer, sponsored by Procure4
City District
Cycas Hospitality
Firmdale Hotels
Red Carnation Hotels

Best Marketing Campaign
Thai Leisure Group
The Ned, London
The Refuge, Principal Manchester

Best use of Technology, sponsored by Bookatable
Casual Dining Group
Cheval Residences
Dine Delivered
Imperial London Hotels

Chef Award, sponsored by the Craft Guild of Chefs
Paul Ainsworth, No 6, Padstow, Cornwall
Claude Bosi, Claude Bosi at Bibendum, London
Nathan Outlaw, Restaurant Nathan Outlaw, Port Isaac, Cornwall
Peter Sanchez-Iglesias, Casamia, Bristol
Andrew Wong, A Wong, London

Education and Training Award, sponsored by Bidvest
Tim Foster, The Yummy Collection
Gordon McIntyre, City of Glasgow College
Kellie Rixon, Rixon Associates
Leon Seraphin, Beyond Food Foundation

Foodservice Caterer Award, sponsored by Zenith Hygiene
Tony Beales, Beales Gourmet
Daniel Gill, Dine
Patrick Harbour and Nathan Jones, Harbour & Jones
Chris Mitchell, Genuine Dining Group

Health and Nutrition Award, sponsored by CH&Co Group
Craig Hancox, Amadeus
Brad Pearce, CATERed
Amy Roberts, Holroyd Howe
Gabriella Roberts, BaxterStorey

Bovey Castle, Dartmoor, Devon
Ham Yard hotel, London
The Ned, London

Hotel of the Year - Independent, sponsored by Sky
Glenapp Castle, Ballantrae, Ayrshire
The Stafford London
The Torridon, By Achnasheen, Wester Ross
Yorebridge House, Bainbridge, North Yorkshire

Manager of the Year, sponsored by Amadeus
Gareth Banner, The Ned, London
John Keating, Fairmont St Andrews
Andre Mannini, M Restaurants, London
Adam Rowledge, Georgian House, London
Laura Sharpe, Ham Yard hotel, London

Newcomer Award, sponsored by William Grant & Sons
Michael Caines, Lympstone Manor Hotel, Devon
Mark Birchall, Moor Hall, Lancashire
Alan and Angela Harper, Palé Hall Hotel, Gwynedd
Aaron Webster and Remi Williams, Smoke & Salt, London

Pub and Bar Award, sponsored by Britvic
Peter Borg-Neal, Oakman Inns
Josh Eggleton, The Pony & Trap, Bristol
Chris Galvin, Galvin Green Man, Essex

Public Sector Caterer Award, sponsored by Premier Foods
Brad Pearce, CATERed
Neel Radia, National Association of Care Catering
Matthew White, The University of Reading and The University Caterers Organisation

Restaurateur of the Year - Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division
Will Beckett and Huw Gott, Hawksmoor
Des Gunewardena and David Loewi, D&D London
Pranee Laurillard, Giggling Squid
Shamil Thakrar and Kavi Thakrar, Dishoom

Restaurateur of the Year - Independent, sponsored by Opentable
Richard Corrigan, Corrigan Collection
Michael Deane, Deanes Belfast
Josh Eggleton, The Pony & Trap, Bristol
Andrew Pern, Star Inn, Harome, Yorkshire

Sustainable Business Award, sponsored by Lightspeed
Bartlett Mitchell
Fairmont St Andrews
Llangoed Hall, Powys
The University of Manchester

Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award, sponsored by Searcys
Andrew McKenzie, The Vineyard, Stockcross
Christine Parkinson, Hakkasan
Laure Patry, The Social Company

The shortlist for the Menu of the Year, sponsored by Teflon, will be announced next month, while the shortlist for the Accessibility Award, sponsored by Bespoke Hotels, will be revealed on the night of the awards.

There is no shortlist for the International Outstanding Achievement Award, the Special Award, sponsored by Johnsons Stalbridge, and the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Berkeley Scott.

The Caterer would like to thank all its sponsors for the awards. Associate sponsors are Cobra,, Hobart, Matthew Clark, Secret Escapes, Schweppes, Tripadvisor and TUCO.

The Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email

Start the working day with The Caterer’s free breakfast briefing email

Sign Up and manage your preferences below

Check mark icon
Thank you

You have successfully signed up for the Caterer Breakfast Briefing Email and will hear from us soon!

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.


Ad Blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an adblocker and – although we support freedom of choice – we would like to ask you to enable ads on our site. They are an important revenue source which supports free access of our website's content, especially during the COVID-19 crisis.

trade tracker pixel tracking